why i know God exists

I know God exists. He is real, and He is living and breathing. I can’t prove it to you. But you also can’t prove to me that He doesn’t exist. Let me explain. I could say things like He has changed my life, I have had way to many “coincidences” to keep believing that they are coincidences, etc., etc., etc. And you could say things like God wouldn’t allow so many bad things happen, those coincidences are actually coincidences, I am insane for thinking a supernatural being changed my life, etc., etc., etc. Yes, there is no solid evidence for His existence. But there is no solid evidence that He doesn’t exist either. And that’s where faith comes in. Faith comes in when there is no solid evidence. Faith is believing in something to the extent that it becomes real for you.

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen (Hebrews 11:1).

When there is no evidence, faith becomes the evidence. I chose to believe that God exists, and I see everything in the light that He exists. When a friend intersected my path at the right moment, preventing me from doing things I would regret forever, I thanked God for that and credited it to God. Someone who didn’t believe in God might just say that it was a lucky coincidence. What you believe changes the way you see things. What you believe becomes your reality, because you see the world in light of that.

Take a minute to read this excerpt from C.S. Lewis. It’s a long quote but it’s really good.

My argument against God was that the universe seemed so cruel and unjust. But how had I got this idea of just and unjust? A man does not call a line crooked unless he has some idea of a straight line. What was I comparing this universe with when I called it unjust? If the whole show was bad and senseless from A to Z, so to speak, why did I, who was supposed to be part of the show, find myself in such a violent reaction against it?… Of course I could have given up my idea of justice by saying it was nothing but a private idea of my own. But if I did that, then my argument against God collapsed too–for the argument depended on saying the world was really unjust, not simply that it did not happen to please my fancies. Thus, in the very act of trying to prove that God did not exist – in other words, that the whole of reality was senseless – I found I was forced to assume that one part of reality – namely my idea of justice – was full of sense. If the whole universe has no meaning, we should never have found out that it has no meaning: just as, if there were no light in the universe and therefore no creatures with eyes, we should never have known it was dark. Dark would be without meaning (bold added for emphasis).

We know that there is evil in the world because we know that something exists that is better than that. That is how I know God exists. I know there is evil in the world but I know there is also something better than that. Take some time to think about this one from Lecrae:

If I’m wrong about God then I’ve wasted my life. If you’re wrong about God then you’ve wasted your eternity.

What you believe becomes your reality, to an extent. God exists, whether you believe that or not. Without a loving God, we wouldn’t understand why rejection hurts so much. But whether or not you believe does have its consequences. If you believe Jesus died and saved you from your sins, then His sacrifice will cover the punishment for your sin. But if you choose not to believe in God, then you will suffer the consequences.

I have chosen to risk it all for God, because I believe that He lives and breathes and will never let me go. And I also believe that I would rather waste my life living for someone who doesn’t exist than have to suffer for eternity because I ignored the existence of God.

Leave a Reply

